Los Angeles Film Critics 2023 Winners (Updating Live)

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association is announcing the winners of its 2023 awards on Sunday. TheWrap will update the list of winners as they are revealed.

The first award, Best Cinematography, went to Robbie Ryan for “Poor Things.” The runner-up was Rodrigo Prieto for his work on both “Killers of the Flower Moon” and “Barbie.”

The LAFCA consists of 60 Los Angeles-based film critics working in print and electronic media.

The critics group is normally more idiosyncratic than Oscar voters, with a handful of similar choices but also a tendency to reward international films and performances. Last year, three LAFCA winners went on to receive Oscars, while another half dozen were nominated.

The winner of the LAFCA best-film award has gone on to win the Oscar for Best Picture only 12 times in the 48 years the group has been voting. Four of those matches have come in the last eight years, with “Spotlight” in 2015, “Moonlight” in 2016, “Parasite” in 2019 and “Everything Everywhere All at Once” in 2022, though “Everything Everywhere” tied with “Tár” in last year’s voting.

The LAFCA winner has been nominated for Best Picture 13 times in the last 14 years. The only exception came in 2020, when the critics’ choice, Steve McQueen’s “Small Axe,” was not eligible for Oscars because it was an anthology series rather than a film.

The other major regional critics group, the New York Film Critics Circle, chose Martin Scorsese’s “Killers of the Flower Moon” as its best of the year on Nov. 30.

The LAFCA previously announced that director Agnieszka Holland will receive its annual Career Achievement Award. The award will be presented at the group’s annual awards event on Jan. 13, 2024.

The winners:

Best Film:
Best Director:
Best Lead Performance:
Best Supporting Performance:
Best Screenplay:
Best Film Not in the English Language:
Best Documentary/Nonfiction Film:
Best Animation:
Best Cinematography: Robbie Ryan, “Poor Things”
Runner-up: Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon” and “Barbie”
Best Editing:
Best Music/Score:
Best Production Design:
New Generation Award:
Douglas E. Edward Experimental Film Award:
Career Achievement Award: Agnieszka Holland

The post Los Angeles Film Critics 2023 Winners (Updating Live) appeared first on TheWrap.

Previous post Cornstarch Is The Secret Ingredient For Light And Crispy Waffles
Next post David Cameron threat over Yousaf’s Erdogan meeting ‘breach’